• Home
  • /
  • Our Board of Management

Our Board of Management

Deafness Foundation is governed by a Board of Management whose voluntary contributions are invaluable to the Foundation.   Members of the Board also serve on Board Committees.

They have a broad range of skills, experience and knowledge both in serving as members of the Board of Management of Deafness Foundation and in the field of deafness and hearing loss.

President:      Ms Karin Gillies
Karin is a qualified audiologist with extensive experience in working with children and adults who are deaf or have hearing loss.   Currently a Clinical Coach at Australian Hearing, Karin is responsible for the coaching and training of staff, clinical quality assurance, project management and stakeholder relationships. She has had previous board experience on the Gardiner Pre-school Committee of Management, including a term as President, and on the Board of McKinnon Secondary College.  Karin is a Member of Audiology Australia.


Vice President:     Mr Paul O’Halloran

head-shotPaul is a consultant specialising in prevention of noise induced hearing loss. He has post-graduate qualifications in audiology, ergonomics, education and philosophy.

He is a Board Member of Burrinja Cultural Centre and the Deafness Foundation. Paul has had a life-long interest in wellbeing and the relationship between communication, culture, art and sustainable communities



Vice President and Treasurer:      Mr Simon Wood

Simonsimon-wood-at-parliament-house joined the Board of Deafness Foundation in 2010 and was appointed Treasurer in 2012 and Vice President in 2016.  He is a Financial Advisor at Ord Minett.





Board Members:
Associate Professor Gary Rance

gr-headshot-2014Gary Rance is an audiologist, clinical researcher and Professor at the University of Melbourne.  He is Director of Academic Programs for the Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology and where he coordinates the clinical research program. His research areas have included auditory evoked potentials, cochlear implants in children, and the perceptual effects of both permanent and transient hearing loss.  He has been a member of the Deafness Foundation Board since 2002 and has served as Vice President from 2010 to 2016.


Mr Noel Henderson

nh-photo-cropped-inNoel is a post lingual deaf person who has over ten years’ experience on not for profit boards in the deaf sector. He is currently the General Manager of Development and Fundraising for Deaf children Australia and a professional member of the Fundraising Institute of Australia. Noel has also previously worked for some of the largest Information Technology companies in the world with new and emerging technologies. Noel believes that “technology can be the great equaliser for deaf people”.



Ms Marie Fram


Marie joined the Board of Deafness Foundation in 2002 and has served on the Education Committee until 2016.  She is currently a member of the Grants Committee.




Mr Lyall Clewer


Lyall joined Deafness Foundation Board in 2012.  He is Chair of the Grants Committee from 2016 and has a strong interest in Technology.




Ms Lisa-Jane Moody


Lisa-Jane is an audiologist and currently working with National Disability Insurance Authority.  She has been a Director of Deafness Foundation since 2002.



Ms Zoe Williams


Zoe joined the Board of Management of Deafness Foundation in 2015 and is the Chair of Hearing Awareness Week Committee.  An audiologist, she has a strong connection due to her personal deafness.


Dr Kathryn Backholer


Kathryn is a Public Health Research Fellow and Epidemiologist at Deakin University.  Her research is focussed on building evidence to inform policy and practice of the most effective and equitable ways to improve population health.  She grew up with two deaf parents and a vibrant deaf community, and strongly believes in creating opportunities for everyone to live a full and prosperous life.